Lapis Lazuli is an abuse victim

I think the ending to Alone at Sea was kind of rushed but good lord, I am weak for it anyway.

“I’m really trying to enjoy it out here, but… I can’t stop thinking about being fused as Malachite.”

These things leave indents on you.  They leave marks, dents, holes, imprints of hands on your mind.  It’s not as simple as–

“It’s not like that anymore.  You don’t have to be with Jasper.”

“That’s not it.  I… I miss her.”

This line caught me by surprise… in retrospect only because I didn’t expect them to go there.  When you’re used to putting all your strength into pushing against a wall — and then it’s gone, and you find yourself falling forward with your own force, sometimes the memory of an obstacle can look like support to catch yourself by.

“We were fused for so long…”

“But — she’s terrible!”

I’m terrible!  I did horrible things!”

Steven tries to remind her that Jasper is cruel, and Lapis responds by focusing on her own flaws and concrete mistakes, her overwhelming guilt making her more susceptible to believing she’s undeserving of better.  And Jasper–

“You can’t lie to me.  I’ve seen what you’re capable of.  I thought I was a brute, but you — you’re a monster.”

–Jasper almost manages to leverage that exact weakness against her.

“Let’s be Malachite again!”

She looks almost submissive as she beseeches her on her knees, clearly a false front, clearly only intending to use her.

“I was terrible to you…”

Lapis feels so guilty about her actions that that guilt even extends to Jasper.  She’s near apologetic to her despite how Jasper repeatedly manhandled, degraded, and exploited her.

“It was bad!

“It’ll be better this time!  I’ve changed!”

Oh my god.

“I never want to feel like I felt with you.  Never again.”

Neither do I.

We’re rooting for you, Lapis.

6 responses to “Lapis Lazuli is an abuse victim

  • Vesper

    When you’re used to putting all your strength into pushing against a wall — and then it’s gone, and you find yourself falling forward with your own force, sometimes the memory of an obstacle can look like support to catch yourself by.

    love this.

    i’ve noticed the connection between Lapis’ story and that of abuse & survival before, but yeah… this episode was still surprising. never expected it to be presented as upfront and center as it was. i feel like they could have done more with it… much how in shows there might be hints (subtle or not) that a character is bi but the word “bi” never gets said, it feels like that’s also the case here with abuse. not surprising at all, but yeah…. would have been nice if they could have taken it that far. i’m still happy with how far they did take it, though.

    • Coyote

      I wish more of the episode had been devoted to it. This is so important to me, knowing that this is being depicted for kids in a kid-safe way — without being the usual trite message about “bullying.”

  • Chris Jones

    I’ve never heard such lies in my life. Jasper was just as much the victim as Lapis if not more. Jasper never forced Lapis to fuse. She agreed to it. And then she trapped Jasper and took her frustration out on her. She admitted this. Jasper was abused as well.

    • Coyote

      Are you okay? ‘Cause saying “Jasper never forced Lapis to fuse” makes me wonder what you think the whole “*Lapis tries to fly away* *Jasper grabs her ankle and forces her down*” thing was about.

  • Anonymous

    …So,you’re saying that Jasper abused Pearl and Amythest by locking them up in a cell? Plus,in Jasper’s POV,Wasmt Lapis “lying”to protect Rose Quartz?Since there is only 1 rose quartz gem in the universe(Jasper,being an era 1 gem,should know this)So,basically,Lapis just delivered herself as a threat to homeworld. That explains why she locked in a cell. Plus,wasnt it Lapis who said yes to the fusion thing?(Btw,the”she only wanted to fuse with lapis to hurt the CGs” is invalid. Don’t the CGs use fusion for battle?)So basically,Lapis could have swatted Jasper halfway across the world as they landed next to an ocean. Plus,Jasper was weak and outnumbered. The CGs were weak too,but now they had a perfectly fine lion along with them. So basically,that’s 5 to 1(6 if you count Lapis). So,that makes Lapis’s decision to fuse even more weird. Plus,when they were fused,wasn’t it Lapis who dragged her in the bottom of the ocean?So,how exactly was Jasper the abuser?I admit,it was wrong if her to keep Lapis imprisoned. And we know that Lapis was protecting Steven(before she fused,of course). But,in home world(and I guess earth too)gems are known from their gem. So,Jasper has no idea what “Steven” is. Plus,Jasper didn’t give Lapis a special punish,net or anything(Because the weren’t a relationship yet). Things started to get personal whenJasper suggested the fusion,to which Lapis could’ve easily said no. But what did she do instead?Used Jasper’s trust to keep her chained down in the ocean and torture her for months and months on end. Soooo,how exactly is Jasper the abuser?

    Sorry if this seems long,I just wanna see your POV(and get into a good ol’ fashioned debate)

    • Coyote

      “So,you’re saying that Jasper abused Pearl and Amythest by locking them up in a cell?”

      Well, sure, I guess. I can say that if you want.

      “Since there is only 1 rose quartz gem in the universe”

      Wait, what?

      “Plus,wasnt it Lapis who said yes to the fusion thing?”

      Explain.

      “(Btw,the’she only wanted to fuse with lapis to hurt the CGs’ is invalid. Don’t the CGs use fusion for battle?)”

      Explain this too because I don’t know what you’re saying here either.

      “Jasper suggested the fusion,to which Lapis could’ve easily said no”

      I have so many questions.

      “I just wanna see your POV(and get into a good ol’ fashioned debate)”

      Well unfortunately I can’t debate you when I don’t even understand what it is you’re saying.

WP account not required to comment

