how… insulting…?

Thanks to finding a Reddit squabble in my referrers, I have now witnessed the phrase “Enjoy your rainbow-colored SJW hair” used as an angry retort.

Never in my life have I seen “rainbow-colored hair” conceptualized as a derogatory trait to assign someone you want to insult.

At least, given the context, I can only assume it was supposed to be an insult…

Who knows.  Maybe on Reddit, “enjoy your hair” is a normal phrase for farewells and greetings.

8 responses to “how… insulting…?

  • Hezekiah the (meta)pianycist

    I have seen rainbow hair in pictures and it is awesome. Very difficult to accomplish, but very awesome.

  • Calum P Cameron

    I’ve seen it before. There seems to be a certain kind of committed anti-feminist who uses “girls dye their hair funny colours these days!” as a sort of shorthand image for “The Womens are out of control and need to be stopped”.

    I guess it’s like the Evil Counterpart to derisively referring to MRAs as “neckbeards” as verbal shorthand for “Pretentious guy who would rather blame his problems on women than admit that he doesn’t have all the answers”, perhaps?

    Maybe there’s a whole rich vein of Hair Choices As Coded Insults which I’ve just not thought hard enough to notice.

    • Coyote

      That’s so… 1950s…

    • Coyote

      Anyway, I’ve seen it too, in that I’ve seen this… supposed demographic… *depicted* as having unnatural hair colors, but I never realized that those hair colors themselves were supposed to be something to be ashamed of.

    • Elizabeth

      …people refer to MRAs as “neckbeards”? I thought that was just for Goons. lol

      Also, Coy, you may be even more amused to know that the phrase in this post appears as “Enjoy your rainbow-colored skeleton hair” on my screen because of a text replacer extension I installed a while back.

  • Klaaraa

    Referrers! This truly must be way too much fun. And expose you to way more new things than anyone could ever process …?

WP account not required to comment

