forgot to mention

At an ace meetup a couple weeks back, when I brought up the pros and cons of Fiona as autistic representation on Elementary, one thing I failed to mention was that her second episode featured an instance of revoked/suspended consent.

I’m not sure if there’s a better term for that (probably is) but what I’m getting at is the idea of taking a step down on the physical touch escalator — offering consent to something at one point, then refusing it later.

It’s two short snippets of separate scenes, just a small slice of the overall episode, but it was… it was nice.  It was nice to see that depicted and respected.  Served as a reminder as to how infrequently it’s normalized, but still.  It was nice.

Season 4, episode 12.  “A View With a Room.”  At one point, out of the blue, Fiona asks Sherlock, “Would you like to kiss me?”  There’s a pause.  Fiona adds, “Asking ’cause I’d like you to.”  Sherlock continues to hesitate, and it doesn’t happen.  It’s around that point that Fiona leaves.

The two see each other again, later, when he visits her.  Sherlock doesn’t take long to ask, “Does the offer to kiss you still stand?”

And she says, quite bluntly, “No.”

(!!!)

She clarifies, a second later, “I mean it does, just not right now.”

(!)

What’s interesting to me about that, besides the fact that it was written at all, is that it’s not presented as bad or rude or stingy or an end to her interest in him — and Sherlock accepts it with a look on his face that’s just like “oh.”  Not super disappointed or angry or indignant or mopey or any of that.  Just sort of… “oh, okay.”  And the conversation proceeds.  And I found it all surprisingly cute, both that part and the part that follows (“I’m a little afraid” “I’m a little afraid, too”).

It’s a small, small thing.  But I’d love to see more of that kind of small thing.

edit: I found clips of the two scenes I was talking about.

One response to “forgot to mention

WP account not required to comment

