things that have my permission to never happen again:

  • boss making jokes to someone else about the local strip club
  • boss making jokes to someone else AND TO ME  about Girls Gone Wild (two separate occasions)
  • boss telling me about an “interesting” (crime-ridden) part of town where he’s seen “nicely painted ladies, shall we say” get picked up by passing cars, telling me this while he’s looking at me like he’s expecting me to laugh
4 responses to “things that have my permission to never happen again:

  • doubleinvert

    Eek! Those were firing offenses at my last employer … until it was bought by another company with headquarters in another state. Then, CA law still applied but the offenders wouldn’t necessarily be fired. Hell, the CEO of the company that bought ours thought it was funny to tell such “jokes” in company-wide, all-hands meetings.

    And you can rest assured I reported it to HR as sexual harassment.

    • Coyote

      Unfortunately, I don’t think it would count as the same (to the people doing the interpreting), since there wasn’t any particular target present, just general chuckling about sex workers existing… And stuff’s complicated since I’m not technically an employee there… but yeah, anyway, it’s uncomfortable. Which is all the more of a shame because he has other qualities that make him a better boss than the others I’ve had.

  • Alex Black

    Those things also have my permission to never happen again.

WP account not required to comment

