🖇

In other news, I’m kind of amused how TTA (The Thinking Asexual/The Thinking Aro) has become this… Foucault-like figure, in that they’re the author of a foundation text and yet most everyone in the “field,” if you will, takes issue with them otherwise (see: the last footnote on this post).

23 responses to “🖇

  • luvtheheaven

    Lol yeah I was thinking about that too when I read Jo’s post. It’s kind of hilarious that so many people take issue with them but still might cite them and all…

    But actually, from what I see when I think back on it, there are a lot of newbies to aromantic discourse who love what The Thinking Atheist/Aro has to say the first time they come across it, and then the Asexual Agenda bloggers and their fans all are more like “hey, hold up, PROBLEMATIC to the extreme, they are so elitist and angry and harsh and exclusionary, read with a critical eye please, plus they don’t even allow comments on their blog, red flag”… but the lack of comments helps make it so if someone comes across one of TTA’s blog posts some other way, they won’t even realize the statements are usually controversial. They don’t see any of the objections. And I see people, here and there, on tumblr or maybe on regular wordpress blogs, saying “I found this post by The Thinking Atheist and gosh they said a lot of stuff I agree with” and I was that person too, once upon a time. So… idk how widespread this really is??

    • Jo

      That’s exactly it for me, luvtheheaven – they are so prolific and the no-comment policy prevents newbies from seeing how problematic much of their stuff is. I think it is quite widespread.

      As for the citing, it annoys me when people write big posts like this and won’t bother linking to or citing any of the other material that’s out there. I believe in letting people know who else has written on a topic, even if I also feel that their material is problematic and want to suggest a bit of caution.

  • Siggy

    Well, they have a large archive of posts, many of which feel like good, definitive takes on some particular topic. People like that sort of thing.

    I don’t have a problem with people who close comments on their blogs–it’s not as if I don’t have a variety of other spaces where I can express my reactions. And while comments can serve as a check on the views of a blogger, when was the last time you ever read a comment which had a significant negative impact on the blog post they were commenting on?

    • Coyote

      For the purposes of answering that, do blog posts written by myself count?

      • Siggy

        Haha, maybe? Stop falsifying my generalizations!

        The point being that I don’t consider closing comments to be a “red flag”, and opening comments probably wouldn’t help. If you like TTA enough to follow them, chances are a few hostile randos won’t sway you.

        My problem with TTA has always been the content, rather than the format.

        • luvtheheaven

          I’d say negative comments help plant seeds of doubt, do help shift your opinion of TTA or other blog posts, etc. I think all of that can help and a lack of allowing comments I sort of interpret as if they aren’t open to a conversation about where they might be wrong. They aren’t an open minded blogger themselves. I don’t know.

        • Coyote

          “Stop falsifying my generalizations!”

          *snicker*

  • luvtheheaven

    Or to put it another way, I think negative comments about TTA that I saw elsewhere, later, did help me realize maybe the blog posts weren’t as great as I first thought when I was more of a newbie to the discourse. And I always read the comments on things. Even on tumblr, if it’s this kind of discourse, I really try to, I look to see if anyone has reblogged it with added commentary, etc. And I consider whether or not I agree with counterarguments, objections, etc to the content in the blog post above. I really do. If there are no readily available comments, I am less likely to realize all of the problems, because I have to do it all on my own, in my own head, with no help from other people.

  • Siggy

    Incidentally, if you look at the current content of TTA, it’s basically all the things I thought were wrong with the old content, but like x100. Romantic people suck at friendship, friendship trainwrecks brought to you by romantic people, romantic people are assholes to aros, the ace/aro spectrum doesn’t make sense–oh, apparently they reversed their views on political lesbianism, so let it never be said that TTA never changes their mind.

    Eh, well there’s a reason I used to criticize TTA more often than I do now. Back then I actually read what they wrote.

  • Hezekiah the (meta)pianycist

    The last straw for me with TTA was a few weeks ago when I asked her (on Facebook) about the post she made on wordpress about her gender, and she told me about how now she realizes that “trans ideology” (vague term that TERFs use, seemingly to describe “anyone who doesn’t agree with us about trans people”) is fallacious and that “biological sex” is the true reality of gender. She additionally said “I don’t want to talk to you about this because you’re trans and you subscribe to trans ideology.”

  • queenieofaces

    My first response to this post is “IF ONLY PEOPLE WERE THAT CRITICAL OF FOUCAULT IN MY FIELD.” The folks in Japanese history looooooove him, to the point that there’s literally a book that the thesis statement is like, “Yo, dudes, I read a bunch of Foucault and it was amazing and I thought about it a lot and I really think the Meiji emperor was a panopticon.” Real book. I had to read it. Just about everybody who does a modern Japanese history field has to read it. My cohort was like “…what…why is this…does he understand what a panopticon is…?” and our professor got very defensive. It was wild.

  • Sennkestra

    And then the saga continues with their newest post….they’re hitting some [maybe not so new] lows.

WP account not required to comment

