not helpful

[tw for suicide and sexual stuff]

I was thinking again today about… the time I was mucking around on the internet, as you do, and found this post labeled “list of reasons not to kill yourself”

and one of the items on the list (multiple times, I think) was “orgasms”

and I’ve never been so angrily suicidal in my life.

5 responses to “not helpful

  • Hezekiah the (meta)pianycist

    Was this list by any chance a compilation from Kate Bornstein’s book Hello Cruel World? The book is a list of reasons not to kill oneself with descriptions, and orgasms and other sexual things are about 10% of the reasons in it.

  • doubleinvert

    If an allosexual were to post such a thing, what would be a recommended key word or tag so that it could be filtered out? It’s possible I might have shared such a list in the past, and I want to be sure that I don’t harm some while trying to be supportive to others.

    –Connie

    • Coyote

      Um… I think people should rethink what they’re doing by posting a general list of “reasons not to kill yourself” in the first place. If someone wanted to write a personal narrative of “these things helped me avoid suicide,” that’d be one thing, but a list aimed at general audiences?

      For context… the list in question was just a list that had nice/pleasing things that are supposed to give people good feelings (but which may not give someone good feelings if they’re, say, psychologically unable to enoy commonly-enjoyable things).

WP account not required to comment

