I still can’t believe this actually happened

me: I’m not straight.

some kid: Sorry, but insisting you’re not straight makes it sound like you’re a straight cis person who desperately wants to appropriate LGBT experiences, a conclusion I reached specifically because you claimed not to be straight, which totally sounds like a thing only a straight person would do.

10 responses to “I still can’t believe this actually happened

  • Sennkestra

    Man, I just don’t understand people sometimes. Reminds of the gem I heard the other day when someone tried to argue that people shouldn’t wear clothing associated with the ‘opposite gender’ because that would be appropriating ‘trans experiences’.

  • Hezekiah the (meta)pianycist

    I’m laughing really hard at where they said Straight means “does not have LGBPetc. attraction.” According to that person I just became straight, unless if my irrelevant-to-my-actual-relationships sexual attraction counts as LGBP attraction. “Lack of LGBP attraction” as the single criterion for being straight is completely ridiculous.

    • Coyote

      LOL YEAH. I know there’s some variation within how different people define “straight”… but it’s still utterly bizarre to me that someone would insist that experiencing some kind of cross-gender attraction isn’t at all part of the criteria. As in, a woman doesn’t need to be attracted to men to be heterosexual. ???

  • Calum P Cameron

    Aha! That’s exactly what someone who CAN believe it actually happened would say!

  • Kelby

    Apparently, I, a non-binary aro ace, am straight (seeing as I don’t experience same gender attraction).

    How does that work?

    • Coyote

      I’d bet they’d say nonbinary people are automatically trans (whether they ID that way or not) — and they were also arguing that trans people are grouped in as “not straight.”

      So, you’re not straight, but it’s because of your gender and not your orientation?

      *shrugs in a circle*

      • Kelby

        The way it’s worded, it sort of sounds like they’re saying that I am straight, but we aren’t recognized as such by society, so it’s okay if I wouldn’t want to identify as straight.

        Either way, it doesn’t make much sense.

WP account not required to comment

