the copilot has met some weird atheists

The other day, the copilot and I were walking along downtown and one of us sneezed.  She then asked me, “Does it bother you when atheists say ‘nothing happens when you die’?”

I thought that was just some non sequitur question.  So I answered something like, “Well, that’s… not something that comes up in conversation much.  Sure, it’s a belief I disagree with, but…”

She clarified that she meant atheists saying “nothing happens when you die” as a response to a sneeze.

I’m… still floored by how bizarre and passive-aggressive that is.

Sure, I can get “God bless you” being annoying and why someone would want to concoct an alternative, but why that?

7 responses to “the copilot has met some weird atheists

  • luvtheheaven

    Lol I’ve never heard of that alternative! And I’ve hung out with a lot of atheists, most virtually, but still, you’d think it would’ve come up… I do get that “Bless you” is supposed to be because you might die soon after the sneeze or something, at least idk how true that is but that’s the common myth of its explanation… but idk. I think “Gesundheit” or “Salud” make more sense, speaking of health… lol…

    Personally, I’ve never said anything. Someone sneezes and I just don’t have an instinct to react. Just like no one needs to keep telling me “Bless you” when I’m coughing and not even sneezing… I hate that…

  • myatheistlife

    The common usage of a blessing response to a sneeze is from pope Gregory to save the soul as sneezing was common during the plague.

  • Siggy

    I would guess that this was a joke, and also particular to this one person.

    A bit of googling though and my guess is wrong. It’s a Dane Cook joke. Okay, so now I’m judging this person’s taste in comedians.

  • Hezekiah the (meta)pianycist

    During the part of my life that I was atheist, I responded to people sneezing with “bless you” or “gesundheit.” Even during that period in my life I knew that saying “nothing happens when you die!” to a stranger sneezing is extremely rude and potentially upsetting. Wow.

  • Hezekiah the (meta)pianycist

    (Although it’s worth noting that even when I was atheist I did not believe that “nothing happens when you die.”)

WP account not required to comment

