Pssst.

Pssssssssssssssst.  Psst.  Hey.  You know that this kind of thinking is the entire reason I wrote this post, right?

Bye.

5 responses to “Pssst.

  • Klaaraa

    And that never ceases to be important.

  • luvtheheaven

    So there’s this long addition to the original post, by the same author: http://themarquisofdorks.tumblr.com/post/117792412333 ?? I don’t like any of what they’ve said, really. I feel like your “On the Condemnation of Gray Areas” post is so important… I mean gosh this “themarquisofdorks” also is spewing the whole “Don’t rush into a label” argument which reminds me of this post of yours: https://theacetheist.wordpress.com/2013/12/07/labels-looking-forward-vs-looking-back/ and… err.

    Here are some more replies to all of that, where you were linked: http://faewithoutconsequence.tumblr.com/post/117801242659 — is that how you came across the post at all? Just wondering. Your Plato post was linked to it. More importantly, I think the whole “unassailable asexual” concept comes up and at the end there of what Fae Without Consequence said it seems like the person’s should’ve mentioned “aesthetic attraction” as a separate concept from “sexual attraction”?? And I don’t know… I feel like I should get involved in the argument in some way but I don’t even know where to begin and I don’t really feel in the mood to get into a heated fight so.. maybe I should just stay out of it? :P

    But yeah… the entire reason you wrote that post… *sigh*

    • Coyote

      “is that how you came across the post at all?”

      Yep. So I’ve seen those, but I haven’t read through them very carefully since it seems like most of it’s old hat.

      “I feel like I should get involved in the argument in some way but I don’t even know where to begin and I don’t really feel in the mood to get into a heated fight”

      Hey, don’t feel obligated. This kind of junk makes the rounds all the time. I just respond to it sometimes so new followers can see.

  • Siggy

    Man, I don’t even know where to start with stuff like that. I could maintain a whole blog about this kind of thing, but it would mostly just consist of a litany of quibbles like, “okay, but what is your argument for why that is true?” and “um I disagree with about ten implicit assumptions in that statement.” If someone’s making arguments purely by assertion, I think they first need to establish that their opinions have any authority.

WP account not required to comment

