*lies on the floor undramatically*

I thought about writing for this month’s Carnival of Aces on the weird barriers between Ace Tumblr and Ace WordPress, or alternatively/additionally, between Ace Bloggers (who do more upper-level theoretical work, essays, and rants) and Asexuality Blogs (which recycle a lot of basic 101 material and frequently seem unaware of what’s going on outside their bubble).  But.  I don’t think I’m up for that right now.

Instead, here’s a reminder that you don’t need an account or an email address to comment on my blog, “my askbox is always open,” as they say, and I am, as always, trying to get the cool kids on the other blogging platform to pay attention to me.

6 responses to “*lies on the floor undramatically*

  • cinderace

    I’m really not a fan of Tumblr and am bothered too by feeling cut off from ace discourse there. I just don’t get the reblogging as opposed to commenting system, or the mix of original writing and reblogs of photos/gifs/others’ writing on some people’s blogs. I do have an account so that I can follow people, but there are some whose writing I’ve come across and liked, but who I choose not to follow because I don’t want to have to wade through their random reblogs of stuff I’m not interested in to see it. But that leaves me feeling like I might be missing out on interesting/important stuff. I could follow the tags, except that so many repetitive asks and 101 stuff is mixed in with the higher level discourse there… Basically, I’m with you!

  • Cath

    As someone who’s currently kind of bridging that gap and trying to figure out my place in both spaces, I’d love to see a post like that. I get the sense it’s a sharp 101/201 difference, and as a very 101-educated ace I’d love to dive into the WordPress community…

    • Coyote

      It’s not quite that simple — there’s plenty of 201 on Tumblr and I’ve seen plenty of 101 on WordPress — but I can see how it would look that way. Anyway, I hope you like it here!

  • Ace in Translation

    While it might be painfully obvious at times that a 101 resource isn’t aware of current discussions and resources in the 201 community (at least from my perspective, being as I read almost exclusively essays/rants which I’d consider 201 stuff), I’m wondering just how much the 201 community really sees what’s going on on all the 101 advice and resource blogs? I for one don’t really follow these blogs because I’d rather not my Tumblr dash is inundated with 101 questions everyday. So all I see are snapshots of what these blogs do when they post in the tags (if I happen to check the tags AND I bother to read those posts … which I don’t really do all that much anymore).

    It’s an interesting topic. If you do happen to feel like writing that post somewhere in the future, I’d be very interested to read your thoughts.

WP account not required to comment

