CEP: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

Well, maybe that’s a little melodramatic.  This post contains 3 separate response from Round 2 of the church email project — one positive, and two indeterminate.

The first is from a Reconciling (LGBT-friendly) Methodist church.  This is the first of the responses to come from a female pastor.

Hi S.

Thanks for the opportunity to address your questions and concerns.  Being unfamiliar with asexuality, I went to the links you provided and read through it briefly (I’ll look more closely this coming week when I have more time).

As you may be aware, The United Methodist Church has major divisions regarding sexuality.  [Name of specific church redacted] is welcoming of all people as we believe that every person is of great worth and loved by God.  We support celibacy, singleness and marriage.  Unfortunately, I think society has placed too much emphasis on marriage and sexuality.  I do not believe that all people are called to marry and have children.  I also believe that people can be in committed relationships/ marriages and be celibate.

If you want to talk more in depth sometime, let me know.

[name redacted]

Awesome.  She’s even cool with nonsexual marriages.  I’m counting this as a win.

From a Presbyterian pastor:

You ask very good questions.  I would enjoy having this conversation with you.  When would you like to meet?

[name redacted]

I’d rather not, to be honest.

From a Baptist pastor:

Dear S,

I typically don’t correspond with anonymous questioners. If you are sincere please identify yourself.

[name redacted]

Ouch.  Well, I can understand why he wouldn’t.  But yeah, no, I’ll pass.

4 responses to “CEP: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

WP account not required to comment

